RSS

Writing

28 Sep

Since deciding to write I have been kind of stumbling around in the dark trying to figure out what I’m doing. I foolishly thought writing just required talent and drive. But I have come to realize that like anything else to be done right it requires knowledge.

Not just of proper grammar and syntax and such. Not even just a good story. To write properly and I think to tell any detailed story properly, you need to understand the subject matter and characters.

Building these stories in my mind that I will write has been a serious educational process. It no doubt requires determination. The determination required to complete a novel well, seems like it requires a passion to tell the story.

It’s not just for fun. I’ve known people who wrote poetry well. For everyone it wasn’t a hobby. It was akin to removing a splinter. It itched to get out, the longer it stayed in the more painful and sensitive it became. Until finally it was removed. Even if no one ever knew, it always seemed to need to come out.

Writing feels that way to me, these stories, these splinters in my mind, need to be told. Even if no one reads them, they need to be removed.

I’ve decided as I learn how to write and make discoveries in that regard I’ll blog about it. Maybe other new writers will read it and it’ll give them some ideas.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 28, 2013 in novel, poetry, Uncategorized, writing

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Writing

  1. rezinate

    September 28, 2013 at 9:38 PM

    Good analogy- life seems to come with an assortment
    of splinters, some fester and become more pronounced
    than others, and in doing so demand relief.

    Like

     
    • Mental Drifter

      September 28, 2013 at 10:37 PM

      Yes they do, and some never fester just slowly work their way out.

      Like

       
  2. lexborgia

    September 29, 2013 at 4:31 AM

    I’ve just perused all your postings. You talk a lot about writing but you don’t seem to ever write anything. Stop talking. Write. Whatever comes to mind. Write. Edit. Rewrite. Discard. Rewrite. Edit. Rewrite. Post. Cheers.

    Like

     
    • Mental Drifter

      September 29, 2013 at 10:08 AM

      I’m writing novels, so they are written offline. Poetry isn’t my thing, but my mother and sister have written poems. That was where my first glimpse of the need to get the poems out came from and I explored from there.

      I may post excerpts of my novels as I write them, but that is yet to be decided.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
