RSS

Forming a process

02 Oct

Writing along with just about anything else requires a proper process to keep you on schedule. For instance a construction worker doesn’t build the frame before they build the foundation.

In a recent discussion with an established writer, they were good enough to give me some pointers. One was a process, a few of their rules to that process, and that altered my perceptions of what I had been doing.

I made myself a list to try and get myself into a good habit.

1: idea

2: story and character development (including research)

3: outline

4: pre-draft research

5: rough draft

6: post draft research

7: final draft

8: finish

The writer was wise enough to know that everyone was different and each person will have their own process. One persons process might not work for someone else.

In developing the main characters your story will show itself. It will also create more characters for you to develop. I am currently in character development, when I get that down I’ll post about it.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 2, 2013 in novel, Uncategorized, writing

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
