RSS

Stimulants and Depressants

08 Apr

I have been smoking for the last 11 years, give or take a few months. I have recently quit smoking, and have been struggling with the effects. I’m not having withdrawals as most people have, I’m dealing with a hyperactive mind.

The reason I quit smoking was (beyond normal health reasons) because I needed more mental processing to build more thorough environments in my imagination. The reason I started smoking in the first place was to calm my mind down. Quiet and slow things down.

There is a cliche about alcoholic writers, drug addicted artists, vices are prominent cliches for artistic types. I’m assuming they are cliches for a reason, maybe many others have issues similar to mine.

The main serious issue with vices is that creativity suffers, even if it is seemed to be helped by some drug of one sort or another.

The trick is to learn to adapt or change your environment. A crutch is only needed if something is damaged. If you need a stimulant, depressant, hallucinogen, whatever, to produce your art, you aren’t an artist. If something can bring you a better artistic ability, then you can get there on your own, you just have to find a way.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
