RSS

Experiments pt 2

15 Sep

I have been intently focusing on learning what I am doing wrong and how to fix it. One thing that I have been having extreme trouble sometimes is characters, and how they all fit together.

So what I have decided to do is to take each character and write a short story about their main motivation. When you write characters, you need to know who they are so you can know how they react to the world you put them in.

I’ve got these characters in my head and I see so much of them and the world that I sometimes get lost. What these short stories will do, is put in black and white what is currently fluid in my mind. Not just allowing my mind to relax its hold on them, but also to make them more concrete to keep me from changing them constantly.

I’m aiming for these to only be a few thousand words, two or three is my goal, but that might change. This exercise will also be purely discovery writing, no outlining other than what I have already done in my head. I’ll post again with the results.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Experiments pt 2

  1. Emily

    September 15, 2014 at 3:12 PM

    Nice post! I agree it is very mportant to know how characters fit into their story and interact with the world around them. Great stuff thanks!

    Like

     
    • Mental Drifter

      September 15, 2014 at 4:25 PM

      Happy to help, I’m still groping in the dark with some of this, but bit by bit I’m getting the hang of it.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
